• What is the Chromatographic Society?

Industrial News

What is the Chromatographic Society?

May 04 2015

The Chromatographic Society, informally known as ChromSoc, is an international organisation which seeks to promote knowledge and share information about all aspects of chromatography.

It achieves this through a small but committed group of committee members who host regular meetings throughout the calendar year and award prizes to those most deserving in the field.

The History of ChromSoc

The society was first established in 1956 under the moniker the Gas Chromatography Discussion Group. A. T. James was the first chairman and D. H. Desty was is its inaugural secretary.

Over the years, the organisation has grown and evolved to include discussion and dissemination of knowledge on all types of chromatography and related separation methods. Today, the society is open to applications from any scientist or science enthusiast for a small subscription fee. Membership comes with a long list of benefits, such as invaluable networking opportunities, discounted rates on meetings and training courses and access to a wide variety of informative literature.


As mentioned, members are able to purchase tickets to the meetings which are held throughout the year at a discounted rate and in advance of general sale. Meanwhile, bursaries are often to students who wish to attend the meetings in order to cover the cost of their travel. However, tickets to meetings are available to the general public as well.

The next upcoming meeting on the ChromSoc calendar is Advances in Bioseparations Biologics Characterisation from Cradle to Grave, which will take place on the 12th and 13th of March in Cambridge. The seminar will cover all aspects of the rapidly-emerging practice of bioseparations and how it affects chromatographers.


Ever since 1978, the society has given out the Martin Medal (named for esteemed Professor A. J. P. Martin) to recognise the efforts of one individual in furthering separation science. The award is given on an annual basis and is a mark of respect to the outstanding achievements of scientists in their field.

To recognise the 25th anniversary of the society in 1982, the Jubilee Medal was inaugurated. This prestigious award is given to an up-and-coming scientist who have made significant contributions to any particular field of separation science.

Current Committee Members

The current executive committee of ChromSoc comprises of the President, Vice-President, Treasurer and Honorary Secretary, as well as a handful of ordinary committee members. The positions are currently filled as below:

  • President: Dr Paul Ferguson

  • Vice President: Dr Tony Edge

  • Treasurer: Greg Jonas

  • Honorary Secretary: Tony Taylor

Digital Edition

Chromatography Today - Buyers' Guide 2022

October 2023

In This Edition Modern & Practical Applications - Accelerating ADC Development with Mass Spectrometry - Implementing High-Resolution Ion Mobility into Peptide Mapping Workflows Chromatogr...

View all digital editions


EuCheMS Chemistry Congress

Jul 07 2024 Dublin, Ireland

HPLC 2024

Jul 20 2024 Denver, CO, USA

ICMGP 2024

Jul 21 2024 Cape Town, South Africa

ACS National Meeting - Fall 2024

Aug 18 2024 Denver, CO, USA

JASIS 2024

Sep 04 2024 Chiba, Tokyo, Japan

View all events